Madden, Sonie win 2017 Ring 19 Presidents’ Challenge

Michael Madden
Ring19 Presidents' Challenge magic contest winners 2017
Outgoing president Tom Crone (left), Tyler Erickson, Michael Madden, Chris Leuck, Noah Sonie, Jack Boyd and Michael Callahan.

IBM Ring 19’s annual “Presidents’ Challenge” magic contest was held Monday, Dec. 11. 

Incoming president Noah Sonie took first place in the close-up category, followed by newly-elected vice president Michael Callahan and Jack Boyd. 

In the parlor magic category, Michael Madden took first-place honors, followed by Chris Leuck, and defending champion Sonie.

The annual magic contest is judged by past presidents of the club. This year’s judges included Mike Arazi, Tyler Erickson, Jennifer Graham, and Mike Wilke. 

Erickson noted, “I don’t know that I’ve ever seen as large a pool of competitors. It was truly a marvelous turnout, with a surprising amount of variation: manipulation, mentalism, sleight of hand, and apparatus.”

Graham said, “The past Ring 19 Presidents were pleasantly surprised at the number of contestants participating in this year’s Presidential Challenge. The caliber of magic presented was impressive. It was wonderful to see individuals, who would not normally perform in public, exhibit such finesse and skill.”

Wilke added, “This was one of the best, and biggest turnouts that we’ve had in recent memory!” 

Prizes will be presented at the club’s annual banquet, next year.

Here are photos of some of the contestants, courtesy of Ring 19’s minister of propaganda, Ryan Ouradnik.

no images were found

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *